The income tax department has brought the feature of e-pay on the income tax e-filing portal for taxpayers. Now taxpayers can file their income tax payments with the help of debit/credit cards, pay-at-bank, net banking facilities, UPI, and NEFT.RTGS/. However, there are a few authorised banks available for making the payments of e-pay tax like Bank of India, and Kotak Mahindra Bank


The IT Department is trying to simplify the filing process from several measures in the past several years towards the filing process of Income Tax Returns (ITR) becoming simpler. Here it is to be noted that only Kotak Mahindra Bank Payment Gateway offers the choice of tax payment via apps like Grey and Amazon. 


What is the eligibility for e-pay tax? 


All the taxpayers who confirm an online banking account with the authorised bank pay their taxes excluding any physical appearance in the bank. But the income tax department would qualify public and private sector banks to accept the e-payment of income taxes.


The Axis bank, ICICI bank, Bank of India, Axis Bank, ICICI Bank, Bank of Baroda, and HDFC Bank would be considered among the authorised 20 banks to obtain the online e-payment of their taxes.


E-Payment Online Tax on NSDL Portal

Step -1 First taxpayers need to visit the website for online e-tax payment.

Step 2 Go to the service section available at the top of the menu. Click on that and a drop-down menu would be opened, there choose the ‘e-payment: pay tax online‘ option from it.

Step 3 - Select the related challan such as ITNS 280, ITNS 281, ITNS 282, ITNS 283, ITNS 284, or Form-26QB payment (merely for TDS on the property sale) under applicability.

Step 4 - After doing this, choose the right challan option that will redirect you to the screen to proceed with the mentioned data: Name and address, PAN for non-TDS payments, Assessment Year, main head code, Minor head code, Type of payment etc.

In the next step, fill out all the required details and click on the option “proceed” after doing a cross-check.

You will be later redirected to the new page where you can revise and make mistakes if occurred in filing the details.


Then click on the button ‘submit’ and you will be redirected to the online banking page of the chosen bank.


Now you are required to fill in your details such as login id and password for online banking and pay the applicable amount.


When you have paid the amount, the website of the bank will send you a confirmation message of receipt that you can print off.


To get the print of the receipt, click on the print button or save the same on your device.


E-Payment Online Tax on income tax Portal

There is multiple ways to e-pay tax that allows taxpayers to pay their taxes via using these modes of payment in their comfort zone. One of these is paying from the income tax portal, let's know how to do that below. Read on !!


The first step is to go to the website of the income tax department. and log in to your account with the relevant id and password.


Now select the e-file tab in the menu section and click on the option ‘e-pay tax’ then click on the “new payment button”


After doing this, click on the proceed option. And choose the specific assessment year and the type of payment you have made.


Now at this point, you will have to “Add tax break up details” such as cess penalty interest etc. and click on proceed.


Lastly, go to continue and there will be 5 options displayed, choose the preferred payment option such as debit cards, RTGS/ NEFT, pay-at-bank counters, net banking, and payment gateways that suit you.


Advantages of E-tax payment


  • Filing income tax returns directly is quick, simple and secure. This new process saves a lot of time and effort as well as it can be done from anywhere and anytime. 




  • The e-tax payments are deducted quickly from the bank accounts via online modes and a receipt is issued for the tax payment at the same time.
  • After obtaining the e-tax payment, the amount will be delivered from your bank account quickly.




  • There is no need to maintain the details of the taxpayers now as it would save the details on the e-challan. The saved details will be sent to the income tax department automatically.



Use of challan according to the e-tax payment nature


Nature of the Tax Payments 

Challan Number 

To pay the income tax for companies and corporate tax


For paying TDS/TCS to corporate and non-corporate deductors collectors.


To make the payment of direct taxes such as transaction tax, wealth tax and securities tax.


To pay the tax on benefits Tax and Banking Cash Transaction Tax payments are due.


In case to pay the equalisation levy


To pay under the income declaration scheme 2016


Making payments under Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Yojana, 2016


Immovable property tax deducted at source must be paid.

Form no-26QB

Rent Payments involving tax deductions at source.

Form no. 26QC


Authorised Bank for e-payment

following is the authorised Banks for e-payment– 



  • Axis Bank 
  • Bank of Baroda 
  • Bank of India 
  • Bank of Maharashtra 
  • Canara Bank 
  • Central Bank of India 
  • HDFC Bank 
  • ICICI Bank 
  • IDBI Bank 
  • Indian Bank 
  • Indian Overseas Bank 
  • Karur Vysya Bank 
  • Punjab National Bank 
  • State Bank of India 
  • UCO Bank 
  • Union Bank of India 
  • Kotak Bank 
  • RBL Bank 
  • South Indian Bank 
  • Federal Bank


Note- All the information expressed above is carried from credible and authentic resources and has been published after moderation. Any change in the information other than fact must be believed as a human error. The article/blog we write is to provide updated information. You can raise any query on matters related to the content at